Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

Novena to the Holy Spirit… Day 7…

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on June 1, 2017

Receive the Gift of Counsel…

If you did not have a chance to look at yesterday’s: Prepare Your Heart, now’s your opportunity.

If you did not have the chance to visit Mark’s post: The Last Hour, now’s your opportunity.

Both of these resources remind the reader – YOU – how great the Gift of Counsel really is!

PREPARATORY PRAYER:

O Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul. I adore You, enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, console me. Tell me what I should do. Give me Your orders.  I promise to submit myself to all that You desire of me, and to accept all that You permit to happen to me.  Let me only know Your Will.

A moment of silent prayer…

DAY 7

The Gift of Counsel

The gift of Counsel endows the soul with supernatural prudence, enabling it to judge promptly and rightly what must done, especially in difficult circumstances.

Counsel applies the principles furnished by Knowledge and Understanding to the innumerable concrete cases that confront us in the course of our daily duty as parents, teachers, public servants, and Christian citizens.

Counsel is supernatural common sense, a priceless treasure in the quest of salvation. “Above all these things, pray to the Most High, that He may direct thy way in TRUTH.” ~Sirach 37:15

PRAYER:

Come, O Spirit of Counsel, help and guide me in all my ways, that I may always do Thy holy will. Incline my heart to that which is good; turn it away from all that is evil, and direct me by the straight path of Thy commandments to that goal of eternal life for which I long.

HONOR TO THE HOLY TRINITY:

Hail Mary, full of grace, the LORD is with thee.  Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.  Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners.  Now and at the hour of our death. Amen! (3x)

Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit.  As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
