Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

Novena to the Holy Spirit… Day 4

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on May 29, 2017

Receive the Gift of Fortitude…

PREPARATORY PRAYER:

O Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul. I adore You, enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, console me. Tell me what I should do. Give me Your orders.  I promise to submit myself to all that You desire of me, and to accept all that You permit to happen to me.  Let me only know Your Will.

A moment of silent prayer…

DAY 4

The Gift of Fortitude

 By the gift of Fortitude the soul is strengthened against natural fear, and supported to the end in the performance of duty.

Fortitude imparts to the will an impulse and strength which move it to undertake without hesitancy the most arduous tasks, to face dangers, to trample under foot human respect, and to endure without complaint the slow martyrdom of even lifelong tribulation.

“He that shall persevere unto the end, he shall be saved.” (Mt. 24:13)

PRAYER:

Come, O Blessed Spirit of Fortitude, uphold my soul in time of trouble and adversity, sustain my efforts after holiness, strengthen my weakness, give me courage against all the assaults of my enemies, that I may never be overcome and separated from Thee, my God and greatest Good. Amen.

HONOR TO THE HOLY TRINITY:

Hail Mary, full of grace, the LORD is with thee.  Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.  Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners.  Now and at the hour of our death. Amen! (3x)

Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit.  As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
