Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

Novena to the Holy Spirit…Day 2

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on May 27, 2017

Fear of Offending God…

PREPARATORY PRAYER:

O Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul. I adore You, enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, console me. Tell me what I should do. Give me Your orders.  I promise to submit myself to all that You desire of me, and to accept all that You permit to happen to me.  Let me only know Your Will.

A moment of silent prayer…

DAY 2

The Gift of Fear of the Lord

The gift of Holy Fear fills us with a sovereign respect for God [not to be confused with the enemies fear], and makes us dread nothing so much as to offend Him by sin.

It is a fear that arises, not from the thought of hell, but from sentiments of reverence and filial submission to our Heavenly Father.

It is this holy fear that is the beginning of wisdom, detaching us from worldly pleasures that could in any way separate us from God. “They that fear the Lord will prepare their hearts, and in His sight will sanctify their souls. (Sirach 2: 17)

PRAYER:

Come, O blessed Spirit of Holy Fear, penetrate my inmost heart, that I may set you, my Lord and God, before my face forever, help me to shun all things that can offend You, and make me worthy to appear before the pure eyes of Your Divine Majesty in heaven, where You live and reign in the unity of the ever Blessed Trinity – God, world without end. Amen.

HONOR TO THE HOLY TRINITY:

Hail Mary, full of grace, the LORD is with thee.  Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.  Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners.  Now and at the hour of our death. Amen! (3x)

Glory be to the Father and to the Son and to the Holy Spirit.  As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end. Amen!

Need to review why?…

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
