Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

This Week…The Seven Gifts of the Holy Spirit…

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on May 1, 2017

All for Mary! ... All for the Glory of God!

All for Mary! … All for the Glory of God!

 

Week 4 Reflection, click HERE …

 

 

*****

Come Holy Spirit...

Come Holy Spirit…

Pentecost Sunday is the day when Jesus sent the promise of the Father on Mary and the 11 Apostles plus other disciples gathered in that upper room where, just days before, the Risen Lord instructed them to remain…

And while staying with them He charged them not depart from Jerusalem, but to wait for the promise of the Father, which He said, “you heard from Me, for John baptized with water, but before many days you shall be baptized with the Holy Spirit.” ~Acts 1: 4-5

And so they DID and so they RECEIVED the promised gift – The Holy Spirit – and the age of evangelization began.  They received the 12 Fruits of the Spirit and also the 7 Gifts of the Spirit…which is what concerns US today and for the rest of this Novena to the Holy Spirit.

We learned in the Catechism of the Catholic Church that…

The fruits of the Spirit are perfections that the Holy Spirit forms in us as the first fruits of eternal glory. ~ CCC§1832

That same Catechism also teaches us…

The seven gifts of the Holy Spirit…belong in their fullness to Christ, Son of David (cf. Is 11: 1-2). They complete and perfect the virtues of those who receive them. They make the faithful docile in readily obeying divine inspirations. ~CCC§1831

These gifts are full…complete…perfect in their makeup especially when aiding those who receive them to persevere in their faith, achieving holiness and sanctity in their lives.  Did you know the use of the number seven is also used through scripture as a means of perfection?…

We have 7 days of Creation (Gen 1 & 2) in which God pronounced it “GOOD” and with the creation of man “VERY GOOD”. The Passover is celebrated in 7 Days (Numb 28:16) – which we already discussed was a prefigurement of the Holy Eucharist when God Himself provided His Only Son for the “spotless Lamb”.

Even in the book of Revelation, the last judgments on mankind are perfect in order of seven (Rev 21:9).   Each one of these entries speaks of a perfection, a completeness in the plan of God ordained before time began.  A reminder that God is in the middle of everything and nothing happens without His “say so”.

We too should ask the question, “Does God live in the center of my heart?” If the answer is anything other than YES, then we need to get crackin’ to puttn’ God back into the center of our Hearts.  The novena to the Holy Spirit and the added reflections on the Fruits and Gifts of the Spirit are intended to help the reader do just that!

So here is the list, out of order, because I intend to draw the reader’s attention to the those gifts which compliment one another and reflect beautifully one or more of the 12 Fruits.

All 7 Gifts... Will YOU receive them?

All 7 Gifts… Will YOU receive them?

WE BEGIN… and in a particular order rather than the usual:

(1) Wisdom = the desire for the things of God, and to direct our whole life and all our actions to His honor and glory (Thurs, April 9th)

CONNECTS TO : FAITH, CHARITY and CHASTITY…

…faithful to the dignity of man, performing our actions out of LOVE for God, guarding our senses so that we do not sin…

(5) Knowledge = enable us to discover the Will of God in all things (Mon, April 11th)

CONNECTS TO: PATIENCE and LONG SUFFERING…

…resigns us to endure the disagreeable and preserves patience over a long period of time even though encouragement is no where to be seen…

(4) Fortitude = strengthen us to do the Will of God in all things (Wed, April 13th)

CONNECTS TO : GOODNESS, BENIGNITY, and FAITH…

…inclines us to wish good to all without distinction, in both our actions and words, always keeping us upright in our dealings with others…

These three gifts are the desire, the knowledge AND the strength required by souls that seek after holiness and communion with the God of the Universe if they are to succeed and reach our Heavenly Homeland.  So let us be humble and ASK the Holy Spirit to rain down these gifts!

O Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul. I adore You, enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, console me.  Tell me what I should do.  Give me Your orders.  I promise to submit myself to all that You desire of me, and to accept all that You permit to happen to me.  Let me only know Your Will.

THE NEXT THAT FOLLOWS…

(6) Piety = is to love God as a Father, and we obey Him because we love Him (Friday, April 15th)

CONNECTS TO : CHARITY, JOY, and PEACE…

…helps us perform our every action out of LOVE for God, keeping us happily aware of His infinite goodness, which renders us tranquil and happy…

(7) Fear of the Lord = have a dread of sin and because we fear offending God (Sun, April 17th)

CONNECTS TO : CONTINENCE…

…represses our passions which cause us to sin…

(3) Counsel = warn us of the deceits of the devil, and of the dangers to salvation (Tue, April 19th)

CONNECTS TO : MILDNESS, MODESTY, and CHASTITY…

…restrains our anger and produces moderation in external actions, guarding our senses lest we sin against God in mind and body…

Desiring these gifts we have the courage to pray…

O Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul. I adore You, enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, console me.  Tell me what I should do.  Give me Your orders.  I promise to submit myself to all that You desire of me, and to accept all that You permit to happen to me.  Let me only know Your Will.

LASTLY BUT NOT LEASTLY…

The final gift of the Holy Spirit is…

(2) Understanding = Which enables us to know more clearly the mysteries of faith (Thur, Apr 21st)

CONNECTS TO : JOY AND PEACE

…keeps us aware of God’s infinite goodness that helps us remain tranquil and happy in our every day lives…

With that we pray…

O Holy Spirit, beloved of my soul. I adore You, enlighten me, guide me, strengthen me, console me.  Tell me what I should do.  Give me Your orders.  I promise to submit myself to all that You desire of me, and to accept all that You permit to happen to me.  Let me only know Your Will.

With that I close with the words of an early Church Father, St. Ambrose…

Recall then that you have received the spiritual seal, the spirit of wisdom and understanding, the spirit of right judgment and courage, the spirit of knowledge and reverence, the spirit of holy fear in God’s presenceGod the Father has marked you with His sign; Christ the Lord has confirmed you and has placed His pledge, the Spirit, in your hearts. 

GUARD WHAT YOU HAVE RECEIVED.

~St. Ambrose, Bishop and Confessor, c.340-397.

Come Holy Spirit, fill the hearts of Your faithful, and en-kindle in them the fire of Your Love, send forth Your Spirit and they shall be created, and You will renew the face of the earth!

LET’S GO!  FIRST GIFT – WISDOM…

WISDOM

***For each succeeding day, click on the gift with the corresponding date and number***

**Or, just click on the page The Holy Spirit, 7 Gifts & 12 Fruits**

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
