Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

First Day of 40 Days!…

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on March 10, 2011

The Sacred Heart IS TRUE LOVE

March 2014

Of repentance and renewal, that is…

MORNING PRAYER: SATURDAY AFTER ASH WEDNESDAY: READING: Isaiah 1: 16-18 (emphasis added)

Wash yourselves clean!  Put away your misdeeds from before My eyes; cease doing evil; learn to do good.  Make justice your aim; redress the wronged, hear the orphan’s plea, defend the widow.  Come now, let us set things right, says the Lord:

Though your sins be like scarlet, they may become white as snow; though they be crimson red, they may become white as wool.

The Word of the Lord! … Thanks be to God!

Last week I wrote about the significance of being prepared.  Today I write about what you can do to help “prepare” yourself for the days that are here and are soon to come.  Before we get into it, let’s have a bit of a review:

St. Paul set’s us up really well for Lent when he wrote in his letter to the Romans:

[Brothers and Sisters,] you know the time in which we are living.  It is now the hour FOR YOU TO WAKE FROM SLEEP, for our Salvation IS CLOSER THAN WEN WE FIRST ACCEPTED THE FAITH.  The night is far spent; the day draws near.  Let us CAST OFF DEEDS OF DARKNESS and PUT ON THE ARMOR OF LIGHT.  Let us LIVE HONORABLY as in daylight; Not in carousing and drunkenness, not in sexual excess and lust, not in quarreling and jealousy.  Rather, PUT ON THE LORD JESUS CHRIST and make no provision for the desires of the flesh. ~Romans 13: 11-14, Morning Prayer, Week I, Monday, emphasis added.

And if you recall from yesterday, Jesus gave us three EXCELLENT examples of how to respond to the temptation that comes from the devil:

“And Jesus answered him, ‘It is written, Man shall not live on bread alone.’ but that man lives by everything that proceeds out of the mouth of the LORD.” (cf. Deut 8:3c). ~Luke 1:4

“It is written, ‘You shall worship the Lord your God, and Him only shall you serve.’ ” ~ Luke 4:8 (see also, Deut 6:4)

“It is said, ‘You shall not tempt the Lord your God.’ ” ~Luke 4:12 (see also Deut 6:16).

The question now to ask is, how can I do the above (even more) during these next 40 days? As the ol’ song goes: “Let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start…”

DAY 1 of 40: BEGIN AT THE BEGINNING

How do I LOVE as YOU, Lord, LOVE me?  A great question, but one that can only truly be answered with another question: What do I DO that causes GOD to feel unloved? Everyone has a multitude of answers to this question, so let’s not make this impossible.  On a sheet of paper write down FIVE( 5) very distinct ways in which you HURT God and make Him feel unloved Be HONEST with yourself.

Some examples: I shout a lot at my spouse, my kids, my neighbor’s kids, those who are driving on the road with me (even though they usually can’t hear me).  I’m always telling half-truths to get what I want and/or to get out of embarrassing situations that I put myself into.  I get annoyed easily when others are rude and inconsiderate of my needs and feelings.  I don’t listen to my spouse. I make up a lot of excuses and rationalize why I can’t go to church more often or go to confession more frequently or pray more when I hear God calling me to Himself. If any of these sound familiar, feel free to borrow one or two. =-)

Okay, now that you have your list in hand, pick ONE (1) of those items.  Write it on a half sheet of paper and tape it to something you look at every day, a clock, a calendar, an appointment book, whatever you look at every day, stick it there!

For the next week, when you find yourself DOING that very thing… STOP! … take a deep breath and repeat: God, BLESS me and make me HOLY. Do this EVERY TIME you catch yourself doing that ONE thing.  Don’t worry about the other four, those will be tackled as the 40 days continue.  For THIS WEEK, (week 1 of Lent), focus only on this ONE (1) thing and repeat: God, BLESS me and make me HOLY every time you find yourself falling into doing that one thing.

I can guarantee you, if you try this with an earnest desire for Holiness, God will not disappoint you!  Those who seek Holiness will be satisfied.  In little ways Holiness will increase within you, until one day, you no longer desire to do that ONE (1) thing.

For with God, NOTHING is impossible. ~Luke 1:37

Speak with WORDs of LOVE: Heavenly Father, I’m so sorry I have caused You to feel unloved by my actions.  Lord, Bless Me and Make Me Holy.  I desire only to Love You more than I already do.  Help me, won’t You?  Please, bless me, and make me holy.  In Jesus’ sweet name, I pray.  Amen!

Need the skinny again on what Lent is all about?  Visit here and read on…

Further Recommended Reading:

7 Seals of Revolution
The Season of Faith

Like a Thief…!

What It Means to be Reconciled

How Do You Respond to Mistakes?

Leave a Reply

 
