Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

The Meat of the Message… Purification continues…

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on May 17, 2009

We continue…

The two messages I will highlight from “Anne” come from the months of April and May, 2009.  Jesus has called EACH and EVERYONE of US to His Service.  For some, that service is carried out in the Religious habit in living out a vocation to Religious Life OR in the ordained ministry of Bishop, Priest or Deacon.

For others, it is living out their call to marriage and family.  Still for others (myself included), it is the living out of a Single Life – widowed or unmarried – striving for holiness.  Whatever the vocation, whatever the calling, we are ALL ASKED to give our service to God for His Kingdom, Glory, and Honor.

Jesus asks – Please be loyal to your decision for heaven service as you live your time on earth. ~April, 2009

The question is: How can we, so imperfect and so apt to fall into sin, be loyal to the call to serve heaven as we live out our lives on earth?

The answer: By allowing God to purify us in every moment of our daily living.  Jesus continues to say,

I AM directing all that occurs in your life.

After all, He IS the author of all life,

He was in the beginning with God; all things were made through Him, and without Him was not anything made that was made. In Him was life,…    ~ Jn 1:2-4a

How often do we become distracted and hinder the graces that come from the Author of Life?  How often doe we lose our way and begin to wallow in fear and anxiety with despair that soon follows after? Do any of these questions sound familiar?  How many times have you caught yourself asking these very same questions?  Jesus tells us,

…many in this time find that they are so distracted by their feelings that they question their decision to serve at all. This is the ultimate degree of temptation.

He also gives us the following suggestion when such temptation comes,

My friends, you should not be distracted by your feelings… Simply allow feelings of temptation to move along and concentrate on the truth which is that you have remained in My holy company.

If you do this you will be less distracted. You will be able to say, “Today I am sad, tomorrow I may be happy, the next day I may feel fear and afterwards rejoicing. What difference does it make as long as I am united to My Jesus and serving His kingdom.” (emphasis added)

Or perhaps your distraction is a bit more serious than this?  Perhaps the distraction you go through leads you not to question your service, but to question your very life?  A very deadly distraction this one is and especially deadly if not caught early on.  This particular distraction is a root cause of many serious sins – including the destruction of God’s own temple – YOU because this distraction causes terrible sadness as it…

…is the great devourer of joy ~ May, 2009.

What is it?  PRIDE.  When those called to His service begin to think that they can do things on their own

I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing (Jn 15:5).

Or, that the things they are doing and the fruits that are being produced come from their efforts alone and not from God.  Their conscious soul begins to realize the error of this thought and scrupulosity sets in.  Suddenly, the joy which comes from God alone begins to diminish as the soul begins to question the validity of its service to God – might even go as far as DOUBTING their calling!  Again Jesus whispers,

If I did not wish you to serve, I would not have called you into service.

…do not believe that [I, Jesus] is scolding you. I am not. I am helping you to examine yourself to prevent difficulties, both for your holiness and for My plan. I will help you in this each day if you ask Me. Ask Me to send an outpouring of the Spirit to you whenever you are afraid that pride is troubling you.

See how important our purification is?  See how much more affective our service to the kingdom of God will become if we allow Jesus to purify us NOW and not wait for the hour of death?  With purification comes great holiness – which simply means a closer union with our Crucified Lord.

He must increase, but I must decrease. ~ Jn 3:30

This reminder Jesus echoes again to us:

…by [your] desire to serve, [you become] little. [You become] little so that God can be glorified. If a person is serving Me, that person desires only My glory.

For remember what Jesus tells us:

“Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you, and learn from me; for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.” ~ Mt 11: 28-30

…with God all things are possible. ~ Mt 19:26

Previous Posts:

Purgatory: Introduction
Continuing on Purgatory

Prayers and Purification
Be Imitators of Christ
Purify My Heart, Lord
We Begin…

Leave a Reply

 
