Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

Purify My Heart, Lord!

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on May 13, 2009

Did you HEAR Sunday’s readings?  The Gospel was repeated today at Daily Mass. =-)  I have an idea!  Let’s read them together, beginning with the second reading from 1 John 3: 18-24…

18 Little children, let us not love in word or speech but in deed and in truth. (Faith without works is like a song you can’t sing; it’s about as useless as a screen door on a submarine! ~ Rich Mullins, cf. James 2:14-17)

19 By this we shall know that we are of the truth, and reassure our hearts before Him 20 whenever our hearts condemn us; for God is greater than our hearts, and He knows everything. (What are those works? The fulfilling of our vocations in life.)

21 Beloved, if our hearts do not condemn us, we have confidence before God; 22 and we receive from Him whatever we ask, because we keep His commandments and do what pleases Him. (How can we please God if we are not doing what God put us here on this earth to do – the living out of our vocations.)

23 And this is His commandment, that we should believe in the name of His Son Jesus Christ and love one another, just as He has commanded us. 24 All who keep His commandments abide in Him, and He in them. And by this we know that He abides in us, by the Spirit which He has given us. (So, if we can fulfill His commandment to believe in the name of His Son, Jesus, and thus reside in His Love, would that not also help us to seek His greater pleasure, His Glory, and fulfill our vocational calls?)

Now, here is the Gospel, also written by the Apostle John: Jn 15:1-8

I AM the true vine, and my Father is the vinedresser. 2 Every branch of mine that bears no fruit, He takes away, and every branch that does bear fruit He prunes, that it may bear more fruit. (For the Lord disciplines him whom He loves, and chastises every son whom He receives.” It is for discipline that you have to endure. God is treating you as sons; for what son is there whom his father does not discipline? ~ Heb 12:6-7)

3 You are already made clean by the word which I have spoken to you. 4 Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit by itself, unless it abides in the vine, neither can you, unless you abide in Me.

5 I am the vine, you are the branches. He who abides in Me, and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing. (Vanity of vanities, all things are vanity. ~Eccl 1:2)

6 If a man does not abide in Me, he is cast forth as a branch and withers; and the branches are gathered, thrown into the fire and burned. (Even now the axe is laid to the root of the trees; every tree therefore that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. ~Mt. 3:10)

7 If you abide in me, and my words abide in you, ask whatever you will, and it shall be done for you. 8 By this my Father is glorified, that you bear much fruit, and so prove to be My disciples. (I will come back to this part of the passage a little later… be ready!)

If I may, I’d like to include the rest of this passage in John, that is verses 9 thru 11:

9 As the Father has loved Me, so have I loved you; abide in My love. 10 If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and abide in His love. 11 These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be full. (This Joy spoken of here, I will also address a little later.)

FOLKS, we ABSOLUTELY NEED purification before we can gain access to Heaven and all its Glory, but we also need purification if we are to fulfill the commandments of God and live out our vocations, our callings.

In the next few Posts, I will address specifically the purification necessary to our daily lives and draw on not just Sacred Scripture, but also on two modern day prophets and their writings to drive this point, this NEED for purification here on earth so we can make it  HOME.  As you will hopefully notice, much of what they profess match exactly with Sacred Scripture and with what the Church teaches; making their prophetic voices valuable and necessary to the continual growth of God’s children – aka – us!

Their messages also confirm what St. John the Evangelist wrote in his epistle and in the Gospel, that we ARE the Mystical Body of Christ and therefore, we NEED to stop beating around the bush and get onto that purification if we are going to accomplish ALL He needs from us, if we are truly going to live in His Glory! (Please read the following…)

Previous Posts:

Purgatory: Introduction
Continuing on Purgatory

Prayers and Purification
Be Imitators of Christ

Leave a Reply

 
