Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

This Past Divine Mercy Sunday…

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on April 21, 2009

Was a most amazing Sunday!  At my parish, the Bishop of our diocese was in attendance for the celebration of the Sacraments of Confirmation and First Eucharist.  Almost all the recipients were not more than 10 yrs old, and each and every one of them seem to possess an enlightened understanding as to what they were receiving.  It was INCREDIBLE!

Many of them had tears in their eyes as they received Jesus in the Eucharist for the first time, while others had smiles so broad that you’d think their face would bust they were so wide!  Plus, each and everyone of them were very appropriately dressed.  I’ve seen First Eucharist outfits (for the girls especially) that make them look beyond their years and anything but innocent.  It was so encouraging to see these young girls looking as they should look, MODEST and BEAUTIFUL!  Our young gents were also quite well dressed in their tuxedos. =-)

Our Church was also very appropriately lit up, with three other priests present to concelebrate with the Bishop.  My particular church is a miniature replica of St. Peter’s Basilica in Rome, Italy.  We have the lights in the ceiling that light up the ornate designs present in miniature.  Truly, it is BREATH-TAKING when all the lights are on.  With the Easter decor also present – many flowers!  My allergies just have a ‘ball’ when I’m reader…the whole atmosphere encourages such rejoicing!  Being that it was ALSO Divine Mercy Sunday, the rejoicing was even more appropriate than usual as GRACES were flowing in abundance!!!

A small reception followed with many group photo ops as well as individual ops.  Each one of the precious dears received gifts from many in the parish whom had come down for the occasion.  Their gratitude and excitement upon receiving the gifts were touching and noteworthy.  These young people KNEW EXACTLY the importance of their saying “YES” to God; I hope this encouraged many of us older folks to rededicate our lives to Jesus, as well.

Of course, the day would not have been complete without an opportunity to hear readings from the Diary of St. Faustina and pray the Divine Mercy Chaplet, as well as having the opportunity to make confession and receive the full forgiveness of one’s sins –

(1146) “Let the greatest sinners place their trust in My Mercy… My daughter, write about My Mercy towards tormented souls.  Souls that make and appeal to My Mercy delight Me.  To such souls I grant even more graces than they ask. I cannot punish even the greatest sinner if he makes an appeal to My compassion, but on the contrary, I justify him in My unfathomable and inscrutable mercy… before I come as a Just Judge, I first open wide the door of My Mercy...

The number in attendence was staggering.  Parking was almost impossible.  The confession lines were NEVER empty!  The Chaplet was sung by two Sisters of the TOR 3rd Order.  GRACE WAS FLOWING!  Many conversions happened that day.  And, OH HOW SAD was the SAVIOR’S heart that more did not come to Him in this Hour of Mercy granted to ALL HUMANITY throughout the WHOLE WORLD.  Yet in between the saddness was also great joy and celebration for those who’s salvation was made secure that day.

The conclusion of the day, for me, was at a choral concert that featured Sacred Music accompanied by a 40 piece orchestra.  Truly, the day was BEYOND COMPARE with any other Divine Mercy I have yet experienced.  I pray that you also, where ever you are, turned to our Loving Savior and received His GIFT of Divine Mercy.  How simple, how easy, how profound…

Further Reading…

Time of Grace Expiring?

Leave a Reply

 
