Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

Good Friday Reflection…

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on April 10, 2009

Isaiah 50:4-5

4 The Lord GOD has given me the tongue of those who are taught, that I may know how to sustain with a word him that is weary. Morning by morning He wakens, He wakens my ear to hear as those who are taught. 5 The Lord GOD has opened my ear, and I was not rebellious, I turned not backward.

(Isaiah wrote/prophesied hundreds of years before the birth of Christ)

Isaiah 49:1-6

Listen to me, O coastlands, and hearken, you peoples from afar. The LORD called me from the womb, from the body of my mother He named my name.

4 Now the word of the LORD came to me saying, 5″Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.” ~ Jer 1:5

31 And behold, you will conceive in your womb and bear a son, and you shall call His name Jesus. ~Lk 1:31

2 He made my mouth like a sharp sword,…

15 From His mouth issues a sharp sword with which to smite the nations;… ~Rev 19:15a

…in the shadow of His hand He hid me; He made me a polished arrow, in His quiver He hid me away.

51 And He went down with them and came to Nazareth, and was obedient to them; ~ Lk 2:51

5 For He will hide me in His shelter in the day of trouble; He will conceal me under the cover of His tent,… ~ Ps 27:5

3 And He said to me, “You are my servant, Israel, in whom I will be glorified.”

52 And Jesus increased in wisdom and in stature, and in favor with God and man. ~ Lk 2:52

When Jesus had spoken these words, He lifted up His eyes to heaven and said, “Father, the hour has come; glorify Thy Son that the Son may glorify Thee,…” ~ Jn 17:1

4 But I said, “I have labored in vain, I have spent my strength for nothing and vanity;…

37 “O Jerusalem, Jerusalem, killing the prophets and stoning those who are sent to you! How often would I have gathered your children together as a hen gathers her brood under her wings, and you would not! 38 Behold, your house is forsaken and desolate…” ~ Mt 37-38

…yet surely my right is with the LORD, and my recompense with my God.”

3 And this is eternal life, that they know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom thou hast sent. ~ Jn 17:3

The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? … 6 And now my head shall be lifted up above my enemies round about me; ~ Ps 27:1a, 6a

5 And now the LORD says, who formed me from the womb to be His servant, …

45 For the Son of man also came not to be served but to serve, and to give His life as a ransom for many. ~ Mark 10:45

…to bring Jacob back to Him, and that Israel might be gathered to Him, …

22 You worship what you do not understand; we worship what we understand, for salvation is from the Jews. ~ Jn 4:22 (NAB)

…for I am honored in the eyes of the LORD, and my God has become my strength…

The LORD is the stronghold of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? ~ Ps 27:1b

…6 he says: “It is too light a thing that you should be my servant to raise up the tribes of Jacob and to restore the preserved of Israel;…

17 And when Jesus heard it, he said to them, “Those who are well have no need of a physician, but those who are sick; I came not to call the righteous, but sinners.” ~ Mark 2:17

Jesus said to them, “Truly, I say to you, the tax collectors and the harlots go into the kingdom of God before you. ~ Mt 21:31b

…I will give you as a light to the nations, that my salvation may reach to the end of the earth.”

4 In him was life, and the life was the light of men. 5 The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness has not overcome it. ~ Jn 1:4-5

46 I have come as light into the world, that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness. ~ Jn 12:46

12 Again Jesus spoke to them, saying, “I am the light of the world; he who follows me will not walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.” ~ Jn 8:12

16 the people who sat in darkness have seen a great light, and for those who sat in the region and shadow of death, light has dawned.” ~ Mt 4:16

Further Reading:

The Rescuer

Leave a Reply

 
