Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

Tuesday’s Readings…a good reminder

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on April 2, 2009

Tuesday’s readings are a good reminder to us all that ONLY through Christ and His Death and Resurrection, can we hope to obtain new life!

The passages below are from the Gospel of John and the book of Numbers.  Both come from the daily Mass readings, and are so connected to one another and to us that I received goosebumps when I heard them read in Mass this morning.

Jn 8: 21-30 / Numbers 21:4-9

21 He said to them again, “I am going away and you will look for me, but you will die in your sin.

…with their patience worn out by the journey, 5 the people complained against God and Moses,

“Why have you brought us up from Egypt to die in this desert…We are disgusted with this wretched food!” (cf. Exod 16:15-18; Numbers 11: 31-32)

23 He said to them, “You belong to what is below, I belong to what is above. You belong to this world, but I do not belong to this world.

24 That is why I told you that you will die in your sins. For if you do not believe that I AM, you will die in your sins.”

6 In punishment the LORD sent among the people seraph serpents, which bit the people so that many of them died.

7 Then the people came to Moses and said, “We have sinned in complaining against the LORD and you. Pray the LORD to take the serpents from us.” …

Jesus said to them, “What I told you from the beginning. 26 I have much to say about you in condemnation. But the One who sent me is true, and what I heard from Him I tell the world.”

27 They did not realize that he was speaking to them of the Father.

…So Moses prayed for the people, 8 and the LORD said to Moses, “Make a seraph and mount it on a pole, and if anyone who has been bitten looks at it, he will recover.”

9 Moses accordingly made a bronze serpent and mounted it on a pole, and whenever anyone who had been bitten by a serpent looked at the bronze serpent, he recovered.

28 So Jesus said (to them), “When you lift up the Son of Man, then you will realize that I AM, and that I do nothing on my own, but I say only what the Father taught me. 29 The One who sent me is with me. He has not left me alone, because I always do what is pleasing to Him.”

30 Because He spoke this way, many came to believe in Him.

Further Reading…

Fulton Sheen
Word among us Reflection
Keep In Mind, TODAY

Leave a Reply

 
