Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

The Mercy of God Overflows…

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on February 22, 2009

Wow…what an amazing last three weeks!  The Mercy of God has overflowed not only in my life but in the lives of so many I know.

Currently, the area where I am at has experienced one epidemic after another.  Most have been in the form of respiratory in nature with a few ear, throat, and eye infections thrown in.  Myself, I’ve been sick for the last three weeks: one week of fevers, one week of bronchitis, and one week of recovery.

During all this, life goes on!  I have moved completely from my abode and set up residence in a friend’s home while she recovers from surgery.  The financial burdens of the day took one last swipe at me before disappearing completely.  During all of it, God provided enormously!  Peace was the first grace received – and I might add received in abundance – followed by phenomenal comfort and rest during the illness from both the illness and everyday worries.  A greater TRUST has become the lived result.

Those I know have received graces of Spiritual Awakening and has led to the renewal of their faith, while still others have deepened their faith and began to more readily let go of their passions to pursue the passions of God, giving Him ever more greater TRUST.

While family members of many others I know have become hostile to the Faith, and even more aggressive to my friends, a definite permeation of happiness and joy have filled the void left by their disgruntled relatives.

MERCY, MERCY, MERCY… continually repeats within my mind and my heart.  I see my illness, and my consequential inability to change my blog site as a living confirmation to this call!  But in case any of my readers are still questioning if this mercy applies to themselves, I want to take a moment to look at today’s First Reading and Gospel Reading:

They come from Isaiah (Is 43:18-19, 21-22, 24-25) and Mark (Mk 1-12), and I will parallel them both as we read the passages.  Are you ready?  Ears to be open, mouths to be closed… speak Lord, for your servant is listening!

18 “Remember not the former things, nor consider the things of old.

5 And when Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, “My son, your sins are forgiven.”

19 Behold, I am doing a new thing; now it springs forth, do you not perceive it?

9 Which is easier, to say to the paralytic, ‘Your sins are forgiven,’ or to say,’ Rise, take up your pallet and walk? 10 But that you may know that the Son of man has authority on earth to forgive sins”–he said to the paralytic– 11 “I say to you, rise, take up your pallet and go home.”

I will make a way in the wilderness and rivers in the desert…to give drink to my chosen people, 21 the people whom I formed for myself that they might declare my praise.

12 And he rose, and immediately took up the pallet and went out before them all; so that they were all amazed and glorified God, saying, “We never saw anything like this!”

22 “Yet you did not call upon me, O Jacob; but you have been weary of me, O Israel!

6 Now some of the scribes were sitting there, questioning in their hearts, 7 “Why does this man speak thus? It is blasphemy! Who can forgive sins but God alone?”

24 You have not bought me sweet cane with money, or satisfied me with the fat of your sacrifices. But you have burdened me with your sins, you have wearied me with your iniquities.

“He gave His very life so that we could be set free.” ~WAU; Feb 22, 2009 – reflection

25 “I, I am He who blots out your transgressions for my own sake, and I will not remember your sins.

4 And when they could not get near him because of the crowd, they removed the roof above him; and when they had made an opening, they let down the pallet on which the paralytic lay. 5 And when Jesus saw their faith, he said to the paralytic, “My son, your sins are forgiven.”

REPENT, REPENT, REPENT… For the time of Mercy is NOW, the time to LET GO of the passions that rule your life is NOW.  Do not put off until tomorrow – I’ll get to confession later -because later may never come (cf. Luke 12:20).  NOW IS THE TIME!

Please Read the following:

Nine Words
Why Divine Mercy?
Today’s Reflection

Leave a Reply

 
