Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

Fulton Sheen…Part III

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on January 15, 2009

Venerable Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen, "God Love You All!"

Venerable Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen, “God Love You All!”

In His Own Words… [emphasis added]

 

“I think the great tragedy of this world is the suffering that goes to waste.  People suffer and they have no one they can love.  Love does not kill pain, but it diminishes it.

 

“I was giving a lecture once…and after the lecture… I saw something that looked like a Grecian statue.  And I went over, and it was a woman in an Iron Lung and she was swallowed in white, you couldn’t see the arms.  The only part of her body that she could move was her head.

“And she said, ‘I’m a convert of yours’.  And I said, ‘I’ve never seen you before.’  She said, ‘No…but it was from reading some of your books.’ And I said, ‘Do you understand your cross?’ And she said, ‘Yes.  I do.  I am not suffering for my own soul, I am suffering for other souls, to save them.’  In other words, there was the death in order that there might be the life in others (cf. Jn 12:24).”

Summing it all up

 

As Christians, we have one law: Good Friday – Easter. Nothing is ever accomplished, that is worth while, without some self-denial and mortification If you have a cross – bear it.  IT IS HIS. And you will be glad of it, and for it, someday.

Your salvation is assured, (Mt. 11: 28-30, 7: 13-14)…

When you pick up the Cross of Christ and follow HimWhen you allow yourself to decrease, while He must increase within you (cf. Jn 1:30).   Pray, pray, pray – Sacrifice, give up once an a while those things which you love to eat, to do, to have.

Make an offering to Him that is of yourself for the salvation of your soul and the souls of your brothers and sisters among you.  Especially those “who do not know their right hand from their left” and have chosen the surest path of separation with Our Creator.

 

“I slipped His fingers I escaped His feet.  I ran and hid for Him I feared to meet.  One day I passed Him, fettered on a tree.  He turned His head and looked and beckoned me.  Neither by seed or strength could He prevail.  Each hand and foot was pinioned by a nail.  He could not run nor clasped me if He tried, but with His eyes, He bade me reach His side.  ‘For pity sake’, thought I, ‘I’ll set you free.’  ‘Ney, take this Cross,’ said He, ‘and follow Me.’  And so did I follow Him who could not move, and uncaught captive in the hands of Love.”

God Love You!

 

“Now I rejoice in my sufferings for your sake, and in my flesh I complete what is lacking in Christ’s afflictions for the sake of His body, that is, the church, of which I became a minister according to the divine office which was given to me for you, to make the word of God fully known,…” ~Col 1:24-25 (Quoted Pope Paul VI – Author of Humanae Vitae)

Previous Posts:

Cross of Christ
Fulton Sheen: Cross... Part I

Fulton Sheen: Cross…  Part II

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
