Living in the Two Hearts

My Spiritual Insights and Musings

A “Half Baked Notion” of…oh duh!

Posted by Anne Elizabeth on April 4, 2008

Have you ever had a day when you looked at your life and thought, “Gee, if I could only have this or if I could only do that.”  Or maybe you do what I do, and you ask out of exasperation, “Why did you do that, Lord?  Was that really necessary?”  Today was just such a day, and today God gave me exactly what I had asked for, even though it’s not exactly what I thought He would do.  Isn’t that just like God?

One of my good friends greeted me this morning with joyous tidings of what God had done for her.  He gave her the money she needed for rent the night before, and then gave her rest from a rather large assignment so she could consentrate on her upcoming final examinations.  All within a period of 24hours, and all as a result of prayer.  This sent me into profound reflection as I myself had made certain petitions, had asked in prayer for certain things, and was too blinded to see the immediate results.

First, I had asked that a certain gentleman be brought more into my life, and though I had meant significantly more into my life, God knew what I really  needed, so he brought this man somewhat into my life.  I had asked God to show me the next step that He wanted to take in my life – do I remain here for the summer or move on?  He answered by lining up classes and several prospective jobs.  Without six credits, I do not receive the full funding needed for school and living expenses, so the answer was obvious; though not quite what I had expected.

Yes, I was wrapped up once again into my own imagination and I told God what I wanted Him to do.  But thanks be to God, He is merciful!  He chuckled to Himself and gently reminded me, “Anne, I AM IN CHARGE, not you.”  Or as my friend Carol likes to joke, “God’s in charge, not Charles.”  (btw…This joke will only be understood by us 34 or older…)  His ways are not our ways.  His plans always seems to surpass what we think He will do. 

Lastly, I had asked God to tell me when should I start to actively seek publishing the writings written over the last year and a half, and how should I do that?  Today He answered, loud and clear, the same answer He gave me last August – I just wasn’t paying attention.  So here I am, typing this first message on my new site, thanks to a friend who knew what to do, and who had told me all this back in August, 2007!  My answer?  Good Grief!  Why can’t I get this right?  Or as one of my favorite singers says, “…been practicing for 30-some years.  Should have walked a thousand miles, so what am I still doing here?” ~Chris Rice 

I agree!  Let’s start walking, shall we?

2 Responses to “A “Half Baked Notion” of…oh duh!”

  1. sallie said

    I get the joke, but in our family, it IS pretty much Charles in charge!! lol …or in Italy, Carlo in charge:)

  2. anneemoody said

    I guess that’s true…is Carlo speaking fluent Italian or English, or both?

Leave a Reply

 
